How Lucky You Are (Miss Peculiar)

How Lucky You Are (Miss Peculiar).

“How Lucky You Are” (called “Miss Peculiar” on some bootlegs) likely came from the same songwriting sessions that produced the Peter Noone singles “Oh! You Pretty Things” and “Right On Mother,” but it’s hard to imagine Noone singing this one, a remake of “Under My Thumb” with additional doses of sadism: “When you sleep, you sleep by me…when you walk, you follow—two steps behind!”

It’s a cad’s anthem, its chorus serving to further rub Miss Peculiar’s face in it—I know I’m a creep, but you’re going to be lost when I walk out the door, the singer crows. The harsh waltz rhythms of the verses and outro give the performance a taste of cabaret (suggesting it may have started life as another Bowie tribute to Jacques Brel, though it also hints at Bowie’s future Kurt Weill tribute “Time”). An odd, unpleasant song that Bowie eventually abandoned.

Top: David Buckley, “Lovecraft Sex Shop, London, 1971” (Tottenham Court Rd.)

7 Responses to How Lucky You Are (Miss Peculiar)

  1. Anonymous says:

    Is it just me, or does the “when you sleep…” / “when you walk…”
    bit echo faintly years later in the “when we talk…/ when we talk…” of Heathen’s “A Better Future”?

    …just me, then.

    • It’s not only you. That was my first thought when I first heard the song a moment ago.

    • dm says:

      I listened and immediately went over here to make the same comment!

      Also the descending “Again and again and again” is “Do it again, do it again” from Width of a Circle

      I really like this one, I can imagine it on Aladdin Sane with some mad Garson tinkling

  2. Trevor Mill says:

    I’d like to think he wrote it for Tom Jones.
    Unpleasant is the word. If only she’d get free of him in the chorus.

  3. Waffitti says:

    At some points Bowie sounds like he’s trying to turn into a jazzy belter, a bit Jonesy.

    I might be going mad, but I feel like this could be reworked into Earthling style material – I could easily imagine Reeves skronking his way though, Dorsey doing something with the swinging rhythm & a rave freakout when it speeds up. Tis a pity the lyrics are so gross.

  4. Anonymous says:

    A much cleaner version has emerged. Not sure how he did it, but it’s very good. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-KDzORnlCUw

Leave a Reply

