Liza Jane Redux

096.235.000.webimage

Just a quick note: the blog’s taking a break until around May 2 or so. So have a happy rest-of-April.

I’m going to be in Seattle for the EMP’s 2014 Pop Conference, where I’ll be offering “Liza Jane: a Mongrel’s Ramble Through the 20th Century” on Saturday 26 April, at 10:45 AM (unfortunately, I’m scheduled directly against a friend’s presentation that I was quite looking forward to hearing: such are the minor cruelties of life).

This presentation is an elephantine version of the first entry of the book. It’s a recounting of the odd, twisted history of the song “Liza Jane” or “Little Liza Jane,” a tale whose supporting actors include Bowie, Huey “Piano” Smith, Fats Domino, Edward Everett Hale, the Countess Ada de Lachau, Nina Simone, Jean Toomer, Stepin Fetchit, Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys, Ruth St. Denis, Alan Lomax, Zora Neale Hurston, Duane Eddy and Levon Helm, among others.

Looking forward to finally digging into Heathen once I get back. All best.

Plus (for those attending):

A Liza Jane discography

9 Responses to Liza Jane Redux

  1. Kev gladok says:

    Hope your trip goes very well sir! Found out things that I never knew at all about mr jones ! Really enjoy your posts and hard work ! Thank you and happy easter !

  2. Ididtheziggy says:

    If you happen to swing north to Vancouver, let me know. We can do beer and Bowie

  3. Bruised Passivity says:

    Just wanted to say that I enjoyed your talk this morning. I was going to say hi and introduce myself but, to be honest, I got shy and chickened out. (I was the female in the second row from the front with the long, curly black hair wearing the black vest and gray men’s tie.) I hope you had a fun conference and I look forward to your next entry. :)

  4. roobin101 says:

    One more day to go… Eeeeeeeeee!

  5. Adam says:

    Another ‘Liza Jane’ worth exploring is by the Almanac Singers which consisted of Pete Seeger and Woody Guthrie among others. It is from an album from 1940 that I was listening to one day when I heard the vaguely familiar song. I sent it straight on to Mike Garson – as I knew it was a song they’d be reviving.

    I would love to see/hear your presentation but I am all the way back here in AUS.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

